Biography of David Cameron

Biography of David Cameron

  • Submitted By: ccc1993
  • Date Submitted: 10/21/2010 11:24 AM
  • Category: History Other
  • Words: 4137
  • Page: 17
  • Views: 467

David Cameron:

General definitions:
The Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ulster(Northern Ireland) is the supreme legislative institution in the United Kingdom and in the overseas British territories. In the head, is the monarch. The parliament includes an Upper House, the House of Lords, and a Lower House, a House of Commons.

The House of Commons is the lower house of the Parliament of the United Kingdom, the Commons meet in the Palace of Westminster. The Commons is a democratically elected body, consisting of 650 members, who are known as "Members of Parliament" (MPs). Members are elected through the first-past-the-post system by electoral districts known as constituencies. They hold their seats until Parliament is dissolved (a maximum of five years after the preceding election).
A House of Commons of England evolved at some point in England during the 14th century and, in practice, has been in continuous existence since the political union with Scotland, and also, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. The House of Commons was originally far less powerful than the House of Lords, but today its legislative powers exceed those of the Lords. Under the Parliament Act 1911, the Lords' power to reject most legislative bills was reduced to a delaying power. Almost all government ministers are drawn from the House of Commons and, with one brief exception,[2] all prime ministers since 1902.
The full, formal style and title of the House of Commons is The Honourable the Commons of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland in Parliament assembled.
Leader: Sir George Young, Bt, (Conservative) since 6 May 2010
Members: 650
Last election: 6 may 2010

The House of Lords (commonly referred to as "the Lords" and also known as House of Peers for ceremonial purposes) is the upper house of the Parliament of the United Kingdom, the United Kingdom's national legislature. Parliament comprises the Sovereign, the House of...

Similar Essays