Universal Declaration of Human Rights
(Child-Friendly Version)
Article 1, Right to equality:

You are born free and equal in rights to every other human being. You have the ability to think and to tell right
from wrong. You should treat others with friendship.
Article 2, Freedom from discrimination:

You have all these human rights no matter what your
race, skin colour, sex, language, religion, opinions, family background, social or economic status, birth or nationality.
Article 3, Right to life, liberty and personal security:

You have the right to live, to be free and to feel safe.
Article 4, Freedom from slavery:

Nobody has the right to treat you as a slave, and you
should not make anyone your slave.
Article 5, Freedom from torture and degrading

Nobody has the right to torture, harm or humiliate
Article 6, Right to recognition as a person before the

You have a right to be accepted everywhere as a person
according to law.
Article 7, Right to equality before the law:

You have a right to be protected and treated equally by
the law without discrimination of any kind.

Article 11, Right to be considered innocent until proven


You should be considered innocent until it can be
proved in a fair trial that you are guilty.


You cannot be punished for doing something that
was not considered a crime at the time you did it.

Article 12, Freedom from interference with privacy,
family, home and correspondence:

You have the right to be protected if someone tries to
harm your good name or enter your house, open your
mail or bother you or your family without good reason.
Article 13, Right to free movement:


You have the right to come and go as you wish
within your country.


You have the right to leave your country to go to
another one, and you should be able to return to
your country if you want.

Article 14, Right to protection in another country:...

Similar Essays