Stages of Critical Thinking

Stages of Critical Thinking

University of Phoenix Material

Stages of Critical Thinking

Part 1: Stages of Critical Thinking

Complete the matrix by identifying the four beginning stages of critical thinking as detailed in Critical Thinking.

Stages of critical thinking
Stage description

The Unreflective Thinker
Fundamentally unaware of the role thinking plays in our lives. The unreflective thinker does not know how to analyze and assess their thinking. The unreflective thinker has no useful conception of what thinking entails.

The Challenge Thinker
We cannot solve a problem that we feel is not ours. The challenge thinker cannot deal with a condition that they deny themselves. The challenge thinker is a closed person and cannot get the knowledge needed to develop skills or learning because of the ignorance of denial.

The Beginning Thinker
This is the stage where a person actively decides to take up the challenge to grow and develop in their thinking capabilities. In the beginning thinker stage the person begins to take the thinking process seriously. This is the stage of dawning realizations about yourself and of developing will power to change your way of thinking.
The Practicing Thinker
The practicing thinker stage is the stage of developing a plan to develop thinking patterns that work for you. The

Part 2: Your Thinking

Write a 75- to 150-word explanation of your current level of critical-thinking development, and explain why you placed yourself at that stage.

Upon studying the different types of critical thinking developments, I have learned that I am at the Beginning Thinker level. I can see myself as I make poor thinking choices many times and I know that I am addicted to this type of thinking because it is not hard. I do not enter the point of view of others when I am talking with coworkers or friends and I tend to try to dominate the conversation. I guess you can say I sound like a “know-it-all”. This is something that I need to work on in my...

Similar Essays