The Age of Revolution

The Age of Revolution


1. Introduction: The Liberal Revolutions

2. The Independence of the United States of America (1775-1787)

3. The French Revolution (1789-1799)

4. Bonaparte (1795-1815)

5. European Restoration (1815-1848)

6. The Revolutions of 1820, 1830 and 1848

1. Introduction: The Liberal Revolutions

The failure of the Enlightened Despots, incapables of changing the society

Liberal Revolutions

2. The Independence of the United States of America (1775-1787)

2.1.The Road to Independence

2.2.The War of Independence (1775-1783)

a. The First Continental Congress

b. The Second Continental Congress

c. Common Sense, by Thomas Paine

2.3 The Declaration of Independence (1776)

The United States Declaration of Independence is a statement adopted by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776, which announced that the thirteen American colonies then at war with Great Britain were now independent states, and thus no longer a part of the British Empire.

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness. [...] But when a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same Object evinces...

Similar Essays