What Is Eu?

What Is Eu?

European Union


The European Union

Europe made up more than 30 countries and even more distinct cultures;
it is now trying to adjust to new economic systems throughout the world. Europe
is trying to advance it's old Trading block called the European Economic
Community (EEC) to become the European Union. The current membership of 15
country's is ruled by one European Parliament. Under the E.U. each country will
be under one currency called the Euro (which is to come into effect on
January 1st of 1999), one central banking system, and will be regulated with the
same set of laws. In effect the country's of the E.U. will eventually become
one. However the way to a unified Europe is not a easy one; because it was frightining the
countries about their own sovereignties.

The European Union is the name of the organization for the countries
that have decided to co-operate on a great number of areas, ranging from a
single market economy, foreign policy's, same sets of environmental laws,
mutual recognition of school diplomas, to exchange of criminal records are among
the few . So however there are so many different countries with their own motifs and languages they will somehow decrease that the number of working languages will be limited to three (English, French,and German) or five (with Italian and Spanish).

A little known fact about the European Union's flag is that it has only
12 stars. The stars are not meant to represent countries. Rather, the number of
twelve stars was chosen to be a symbol of completeness and of unity, as it
corresponded to the number of stars in the zodiac, the number of months in the
year and (for the purpose of winning over the mainly Christian European people)
to the number of Jesus's apostles.

The E.U. Government Structure

The European Unions main institutions are the European Parliament, the
European Commission, the European Court of Justice, the Council of Ministers and
the Court...

Similar Essays