The Commonwealth of Australia

The Commonwealth of Australia

  • Submitted By: beibut
  • Date Submitted: 10/17/2008 10:00 AM
  • Category: English
  • Words: 2940
  • Page: 12
  • Views: 1


|1. History |3 |
|2. Politics |3 |
|3. Geography |5 |
|4. Ecology |5 |
|5. Economy |6 |
|6. Demography |6 |
|7. Culture |8 |
|References |9 |


Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a country in the southern hemisphere comprising the mainland of the world's smallest continent, the major island of Tasmania and numerous other islands in the Indian and Pacific Oceans.N4 Neighbouring countries include Indonesia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea to the north, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and New Caledonia to the northeast, and New Zealand to the southeast. Australia is the only single country to occupy an entire continent.

The Australian mainland has been inhabited for more than 42,000 years by indigenous Australians.[1] After sporadic visits by fishermen from the north and then European discovery by Dutch explorers in 1606,[2] the eastern half of Australia was later claimed by the British in 1770 and initially settled through penal transportation to the colony of New South Wales, commencing on 26 January 1788. As the population grew and new areas were explored, another five largely...

Similar Essays